Mongolian languages - a group of languages spoken by the Mongolian peoples. According to some researchers, they belong to the Altaic linguistic group together with the Turkic and Manchu-Tungus languages and the isolated Japanese and Korean. The contemporary Mongolian languages have been developed from the once united (until the 16th-17th centuries) Mongolian language and are divided into the basic (Mongolian Proper, Buryat, Kalmyk) and marginal (Mogol, Dagur, Monguor etc. in China and Afganistan) groups.

There are two Mongolian languages spoken Russia:

Since the 13th century, the speakers of the basic Mongolian languages used a common literary language with its own writing system. The contemporary Buryat and Kalmyk literary languages are based on the Russian script.


Created by